AAF Pensacola History

AAF Pensacola strives to offer the local advertising, marketing and public relations community the best in education, programs, competition and networking. We know your work hard, so we work to reward those efforts, help you stay on top of industry advancements, network with your peers and unwind a little. Members receive discounts on everything the club offers.

"Facts are irrelevant. What matters is what the consumer believes." - Seth Godin

"If it doesn't sell, it isn't creative." - David Ogilvy


Past AAF Pensacola Presidents

2017-2018 Mike Craney
2016-2017 Chris Kenney
2015-2016 Chris Kenney
2014-2015 Beau Vignes
2013-2014 Megan Gonzalez
2012-2013 Robin Kelly
2011-2012 Michelle Rushing
2010-2011 Mike Craney
2009-2010 Joe Vinson
2008-2009 Jay Massey
2007-2008 Christopher Davis
2006-2007 George Johnson
2005-2006 Chip Henderson
2004-2005 Beth White-Vogl
2003-2004 Harold Smith/Beth White-Vogl
2002-2003 David Zimmerman/Ross Orenstein
2001-2002 Deb Young/Ross Orenstein
2000-2001 Larry Cowan
1999-2000 Ross Orenstein
1998-1999 Mary Beth LaCoste
1997-1998 Ronda Cook-McNeil
1996-1997 Shelly Ragsdale
1995-1996 Suzanne Brewer
1994-1995 Becky Clark
1993-1994 John Merrill
1992-1993 Laura Colley
1991-1992 Scott Shockley
1990-1991 Tom English
1989-1990 Rudy Shumack
1988-1989 Randy Blake
1987-1988 Rita Finkbone
1986-1987 Philip Armour
1985-1986 Dave Pavlock
1984-1985 Mary Rabe
1983-1984 Jim Colley
1982-1983 Jim Colley

Silver Medal Award


The Silver Medal is the highest award that can be given by AAF Pensacola.

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern.

AAF Clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community. The award serves to enhance the image of advertising by recognizing a locally well-known person for his or her advertising and community involvement.


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections:

  • Contribution to His/Her Company – The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service.

  • Creative Ability – The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

  • Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising – The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

  • Contributions to the Community – The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.


2017 Brent Lane
2014 Mona Amodeo
2011 Bobby Switzer
2002 Jerry Maygarden
2001 Ross Orenstein
2000 Mike Bates
1994 Dick Appleyard
John Appleyard
Randy Blake
Ellis Bullock
Becky Clark
Jim Colley
Frank Craddock
Tom Groth
Gene Graves
Dave Pavlock
Mary Rabe
Rudy Shumack